Sued51's Blog











{May 17, 2014}   Daily Post: First Sight

Just this morning I was telling my beautiful cat, Aimee “her” story, then this prompt came through and I said, “Well…that would be Aimee’s story, of course!”

All the cats that have shared my life were adopted in some way: whether they turned up on the doorstep like my first cat, Breeze, or “formally” adopted like my present cats, Aimee and Zoee. In every situation, I felt an instant bond with them, that it was somehow meant to be. But with Aimee, I would have to say, I fell in love.

I love looking at the cats for adoption every time I visit PetSmart; I love to read their stories and simply look at them. On one of our trips my husband and I thought we saw the double for the wonderful cat we knew we were going to lose soon (you can read about Simone here). She looked just like our baby from behind, but when she turned around, she had a completely different face. We thought her beautiful, but we weren’t ready to adopt yet.  After a  few more visits to the store, the beautiful calico was gone.

A couple of months later, when we knew we were going to lose our beloved Simone any day, we went to the local PetSmart to look at the cats for adoption to cheer ourselves up. We were amazed to find the beautiful calico back! We read the notes on her…she had been to a foster home because she had an allergy to the cat litter being used in the shelter and had developed red eyes that made her unadoptable. But she was back with a note that she needed special cat litter. That didn’t bother us.

We had decided though, that this time we would get two cats. We had somewhere to be, so we decided to come back the next day.

As we walked across the store to the adoption area the next day, I saw her. The cutest tiger kitten I had ever seen (in my opinion of course). I exclaimed out loud, “Look at the little tiger!” The moment I saw her, I knew I had to have her in my life. The final test was for us each to hold the two cats and make sure they liked us. They were both loving and purred when each of us held them, so we filled out the adoption papers.

Turns out, someone else asked for our little tiger an hour after we filled out the papers. When we came back to get the cats a couple of days later, the people were there trying to convince us to take another cat. Nope…it was love at first sight…something about the big ears and the black nose…

Happy Kitties

Happy Kitties

Colline says:

It is always a wonderful thing when you find the right animal personalities that suit your own.

Like



sued51 says:

I have been so lucky Colline! 🙂

Like



How could we not LOVE this piece, I’m adopted, too, xoxo LMA

Like



sued51 says:

I totally believe in adoption, LMA!

Like



[…] sued51.wordpress.com/2014/05/17/daily-post-first-sight/ […]

Like



Yes, those are happy and LUCKY cats, so have you two for parents. Love the pix and the story.

Like



[…] sued51.wordpress.com/2014/05/17/daily-post-first-sight/ […]

Like



Sonel says:

They are just adorable Sued. The one that looks like she is smiling, is that Zoe? Such a lovely story hon and thanks for rescuing these cuties and giving them so much love. 😀 ♥ Hugs ♥

Like



sued51 says:

Zoee does look like she’s smiling, Sonel…that’s why I have always loved this photo! I swear she was so glad to be adopted…:-)

Like



Cindi says:

Our black and white Presto was with us for over 15 years, and was the most amazing guy. He chose us; as a kitten, someone dumped him in our cul-de-sac where we lived at the time, and he walked through the bushes into our yard with his over-size ears and sweet little face and said “meow” — he was home. We accepted his decision; we know better than to say “no” to a cat!! My daughters were about 4 and 7 at the time. Presto was my youngest daughter’s first love, and his fur absorbed her tears over the years.

I enjoyed reading your kitty memories! I don’t have a feline family member right now, but hope to again soon. (Your photograph is perfect.)

Like



sued51 says:

Cindi, Presto sounds wonderful. My first cat, Breeze turned up on our doorstep, just like Presto. Cats do decide where they want to live, and who they want to live with! :-0

Like



[…] sued51.wordpress.com/2014/05/17/daily-post-first-sight/ […]

Like



Jo Bryant says:

I think cats pick us everytime. Charlie sure did me.

Like



sued51 says:

I think so, too, JO. And I definitely believe when cats show up on your doorstep, they’ve cased the house, first. 😀

Like



Jo Bryant says:

Hahahahaha…I think you might be right Sue.

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
