Sued51's Blog











{December 29, 2009}   A New Year’s Wish

A New Year’s Wish
The year 2009 brought dark days for my husband and I, as it did for so many others. My husband was laid off from his job in the automotive industry and wasn’t able to find another job for almost the entire year; we didn’t know how or when we would be able to pay our bills. There were days we felt so defeated, we wondered if it was worth the struggle.
During that time we had a twenty-year-old kitty who was a stable center of our lives. We were watching her get old and knew we were watching her final months. Yet, each time we thought she must be in her last days, she rebounded over and over. She taught us about persistence and not giving up. Our bedroom was on a separate floor from her bed and food. Yet every night when we went to bed, she would descend the stairs with us to go through the bedtime ritual she had performed for her whole life.
We had set up a ramp to help her get up on the hope chest at the end of our bed, which then enabled her to get up on the bed. She would climb up and rub the tv remote and wait for the evening petting. When we were ready to go to sleep and turn off the tv, she would slowly make the difficult ascent up the stairs to her own bed. I watched her climb the stairs, each time afraid she might not make it. She would drag her back left leg; she would pull herself up with her front paws, one step at a time. Yet, she still didn’t decide it wasn’t worth it. Sometimes she came down several times a night to walk on my head or crawl under the blankets. And of course, to let me know it was breakfast time.
She lived in six places and three states in the course of her long life. She never minded the moving as long as we were all together. My husband was her caretaker during his unemployment, bathing her and cleaning up after her when she got sick. When she finally lost the strength to get out of her bed, and her eyes grew cloudy, we didn’t look at it as now we could live a little cheaper…we had lost our inspiration, and I knew my husband’s isolation would be devastating. Despite our financial situation, I told my husband that a pet was a necessity, and we had to adopt a new kitty.
We immediately adopted two unrelated kittens. They perked us up and became our joy. My husband laughed at their leaps and sprints. We took picture after picture and allowed their antics to take us away from our worries. I was glad we didn’t always put money first. When Christmas came, we bought some toys for our kitties and nothing for ourselves; Christmas morning we played with our girls, felt blessed, and felt hope for the times ahead.
Pets are a blessing no matter how tough the economy; whether it is stray dog for a soldier in Iraq or a homeless person, or a pet for an older person in a nursing home. Despite what the new year may bring to the economy, I hope all the pets left behind because of foreclosures or financial ruin find homes in 2010, bringing love and joy to those who have lost hope or faith that things will get better.

[…] Simone was over 20 years old when she died; she was the center of our lives, and believe me, she ruled our little kingdom. (If you want to read a bit more about her, check out this post…warning: it is a tearjerker.) […]

Like



Jo Bryant says:

It is a tearjerker…but inspiring as well. They bring so much to our lives. i dread the day one of my fur babies leaves me…but all that sorrow I will know then is worth it for all the joy I know now.

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks for reading it Jo. The joy is definitely worth the sorrow. Two days before Simone died I had a conversation with her talking about all our memories and how I would never forget her. She relaxed and felt it was okay to go after that…she was such a fighter…

Like



Jo Bryant says:

Yes it is. Back in 2004 my Tia [a kelpie cross] I had had for 17 years suddenly developed dementia. It was heartbraking to have to put her down. I cried for two weeks, and was miserable for months…but I would not have traded feeling that low because I would never have felt the absolute bliss that she gave me at times. I still miss her every day. I adore Chevvy but Tia was the gentlest soul I have ever met [humun or animal] and I am so glad she shared her life with mine.

Like



sued51 says:

We love all our fur babies…but there are always “special” ones. It must have been difficult; I feel for you.

Like



[…] Simone, passed away a year ago, we adopted another calico, Zoee.  If you read my previous blog, A New Year’s Wish, you know that we felt Simone was a very special cat.  She chased hockey players on the TV, stopped […]

Like



[…] husband and I thought we saw the double for the wonderful cat we knew we were going to lose soon (you can read about Simone here). She looked just like our baby from behind, but when she turned around, she had a completely […]

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
