Sued51's Blog











{June 27, 2012}   What’s a Former Borderline Anorexic To Do?

This is an example of a healthy meal in my world: no meat and a vegetable is prominently featured. But it sure tasted decadent! Anyone who has read my food posts knows that my husband is a fabulous cook; he believes life is too short to eat ordinary. Every day for dinner we have something incredible. He loves cooking for me because I love food and I am open to food experiments. In this case, he took a recipe for pumpkin pappardelle and made it with buttercup squash. He used fresh ground nutmeg and fresh parsley — mmmm.

My husband is French so he likes to cook with butter and cream. I appreciate the wonderful food he cooks for me; I am a lucky woman. But I don’t appreciate the fat collecting around my middle and having to burn over 600 calories in my workout just so I don’t become HUGE! I can’t complain about the food…I am so grateful that I eat well and that he cooks for me. But I am so conflicted! I barely eat the rest of the day and seem to be always hungry.

Should I just keep working out like a fiend? Should I work harder on accepting myself with some fat on my body? What’s a former borderline anorexic to do??

My husband’s a European trained chef so he too loves the butter and cream so I’m in the same boat as you. My solution to combat a rapidly expanding middle tire is portion control and timing. It works great for me and I still get to eat deliciously.

Like



Giovanni says:

same with me and my wife: she likes to cook; I like to eat – the tire around my middle expands.

Like



sued51 says:

Yes…that’s what I try to do…I swear he gives me larger portions than himself! 🙂

Like



When my husband and I were first married he kept a jar of flour next to the stove because he fried food that much! It was really yummy but yeah, I put on some extra weight in those early years. Thanks for your like on my blog! Have a beautiful day!

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks for the comment and the visit!

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
