Sued51's Blog











{July 10, 2014}   Vintage Sheet Music: Just Another Step on the Trail of the Elusive Comic Book

Last October I wrote a post about the search for the elusive comic book: the one my father didn’t sell that we could sell now and solve everyone’s money woes.

Nine months later we continue to sort through old boxes, sorting out the family heirlooms or things we could sell at a yard sale, our own version of the lottery. Recently we found some approximately one-hundred-year old sheet music in pretty good shape. Once I got over the initial (false) excitement of thinking they might be financially worthwhile, my heart beat more normally and I became  interested in the history. I had taken a class in college on nationalism in children’s literature and found it very interesting. Now firsthand I was witnessing nationalism in another form: sheet music.

Many of the ones we found were copyrighted at the time of  WWI, and thus, this was their subject matter. You can’t get much more nationalistic than this one!

General Pershing song

WWI Nationalistic Sheet Music

How about this one?

 

Vintage Sheet Music

More Nationalistic WWI Sheet Music

According to Antique Roadshow, these are representative of the “golden age” of sheet music between 1890-1920, when people gathered in living rooms and played music for entertainment.

Because my grandfather was in Paris during WWI, I am interested in this time in U.S. history. This is one of my favorite photos of him.

My Grandfather in Paris during WWI

My Grandfather in Paris during WWI

 

I have been considering creating my own “display” in my home with my grandfather’s photo and some “doughboy” toy soldiers. Finding this sheet music may just give me the impetus to do it. I’m thinking now I will frame one of these treasures to add to my display. Since according to Antique Roadshow, they are affordable collectibles, we probably won’t sell them.

But I’m torn. The nationalistic ones are interesting from a historical perspective, but I fell in love with the artwork on some of the others — their colors and style.

sheet music

Vintage Sheet Music

 

vintage sheet music

Colorful Vintage Sheet Music

 

Certainly I can’t be greedy, I’m sure my brothers and sister-in-laws may be interested…and I certainly don’t have the room for more than two. It will be hard to choose, don’t you think?

In the meantime, I’m learning about history and antiques, and the search for the elusive comic book goes on.

Gary Floyd says:

The Washington crossing the Rhine is a keeper Sue.

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks, Gary. Maybe I should have set up a poll? 😉 There are actually some others, but these struck me…

Like



Colline says:

Always loved the pictures that were on the sheets of music my dad had.

Like



sued51 says:

Colline,

Thanks for coming by…some of them are quite beautiful!

Like



bluebee says:

How wonderful – I would go with the artwork that you love 😃

Like



sued51 says:

Another view is to just go with the one that has the right colors! 🙂

Like



Cindi says:

As a musician, all sheet music “speaks” to me … but those you’ve pictured are truly a glimpse of an era, culture, and time, and nothing I have from the 70’s through today captures that. Wonderful find!! I know you’ll have fun picking the best one(s) for your colors and the artwork. 🙂

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks for your comment and visit, Cindi. As a musician, you would probably pick what you thought was the best piece of music. Funny how you can take the same items and everybody would choose something different based on their interests. That’s what makes the world go round!

Like



It is hard to choose. They are all uniquely beautiful and perfect for conversation starters. It’s truly inspiring to see someone admiring relics of the past. To me, they represent a golden era we all are missing today. When was the last time people gathered together in the living room, listening to music, socializing and just enjoying great company and conversation? With smartphones and high tech gadgets around, the vintage ones prove more priceless!

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks so much for your thoughtful comment. I agree wholeheartedly! I long for that type of companionship and camaraderie these days. Even when I was young, my friend (who played the guitar) and I would sing for hours together and the time would fly by. We had so much fun and I miss it.

Like



These are great and would be wonderful framed! Great find!!

Like



sued51 says:

I thought so, Tina…I guess they need to be framed with the “acid-free” materials to keep them from fading any more. Also, they smell a bit musty, but they are in great shape for their age!

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
