Sued51's Blog











{February 10, 2010}   If Only I Could Time Travel…

Today as I cleaned the house I found myself thinking about pioneer women and wondering, how did they know when they had a good and productive day?  Did their endless chores make them feel good about themselves?  For the most part, they didn’t make money outside the home (and sometimes their husbands didn’t either, until after the harvest).  They had an endless number of tasks to do, but I’m sure they didn’t have time to make lists and cross things off in order to get a sense of accomplishment.

My whole adult life my sense of accomplishment has been based on working to make money.  I’ve always had a lot of hobbies, but I’ve never felt I needed them for other than personal satisfaction and fun.  As an unemployed person in 2010, I am struggling with the days that go by without my making money.  I try to keep my eye on the future and the long-term, but it isn’t easy.  I actually feel better if I go out and find a penny on the ground or pick up returnable cans because it makes me feel like my condition has changed, even a little bit, from yesterday.

I feel like if I could time travel, I could go back and relearn my life’s purpose and how to value each day.  I need to learn the lesson now, but today’s way of life is not an effective teacher for me.  If only this lesson were a fact I could memorize or a book I could read.

I really think time travel might work, but I don’t have that option.  So I guess I have to make gratefulness lists and, to quote John Legend, “wait for the world to change.”

Leave a Reply

et cetera
