Sued51's Blog











{June 25, 2014}   Gotta Love Grandmothers

Clippings

Clippings

The other day my mother and I were going over more boxes. (They are endless!) My paternal grandmother died years ago, but there are still boxes of stuff hanging around that were cleaned out of her house. My father never got a chance to sort through them before he passed away. My mother is determined to dig into the sheds and get through them during the summer months. (It’s easier emotionally than going through my father’s stuff or her own…besides, this stuff is OLD and smelly and she can do it outside.)

My grandmother was a clipper, especially as her memory started to go and she stayed inside all the time. She clipped out recipes, she clipped out poems, she clipped out news stories. There are many boxes just full of yellowed newspaper clippings. Why don’t we just toss them you might ask? Well, here’s a perfect example of why we don’t.

In one box my mother found an old Reader’s Digest envelope labeled in my grandmother’s neat writing: All Susan’s Clippings.

My grandmother had cut out the articles published in the local newspaper for every time I made the honor roll or appeared in the school play. They were tucked into my high school graduation program. Her efforts were touching enough, but I found a treasure in there.

I mentioned in previous posts that the first poem I ever had published was in the editorial section of The Boston Globe. I had just turned 16 at the time, so even though it is a “silly” poem, I’m still proud of it. But I didn’t have a copy. I’m sure I kept one at the time, but it was easily misplaced over the course of many moves and 40 years. Bless my grandmother…there was a copy in her little envelope! Nobody but a diehard Red Sox fan would probably understand it, but here it is…

Red Sox Poem

My First Published Poem

bluebee says:

What a treasure. And your grandmother, too. 😃

Like



sued51 says:

I was so glad she saved those things, BB. Of course it made me feel loved. I spent a lot of time with her when I was a child. She was a kind woman but became quite reclusive in the years after my grandfather died.

Like



Peter S says:

That must have been a very emotional find!

Your poem brings back memories, especially ‘Spaceman’!

Like



sued51 says:

Pretty awesome, Peter! Finds like this make all the smelly sorting worthwhile! 🙂

Like



What a wonderful find, your Grandmother is wonderful for having put this collection together. Something so precious which money can’t buy…..and what a fun poem 🙂

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks, Green. 🙂 For me, it is worth the time it takes to pick through all the stuff. I learn more about her (what she liked, etc.) and find out what she treasured.

Like



How exciting! I would say that is pretty darn good for a 16 year old girl. Hopefully you’ll frame it.
By the way wasn’t 1975 just a few years ago??? 😦

Like



sued51 says:

I know, Janna…where have those years gone????

I was emailing a good friend of over 30 years (who is a big Red Sox fan) and realized she was only 11 years old at the time…YIKES!

Like



Sonel says:

What a sweetie your grandmother was and she kept a treasure indeed Sue! It’s such a great poem! You should be proud hon. 😀

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks, Sonel I’m glad to have it and I was glad to have her. 🙂

Like



Sonel says:

Yes, we were blessed with wonderful grannies it seems. 😀

Like



No Red Sox fan here, but I love the poem.

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks, Bruce…not bad for a 15-year-old…;-)

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
