Sued51's Blog











{June 2, 2014}   Old Friends are the Best Medicine…

I had a rough week at work last week; one of those weeks that makes you take a whole weekend of doing things you love to recharge.

Saturday I had a visit with a friend I have known for 50 years. She just got back from a fabulous trip across Europe. I missed her, but she sent me pictures every day as if I were travelling with her. Priceless. There’s no jealousy on my part; she shared her trip with me and I felt happy for her. That is the way it should be with friends who love and value each other.

Yesterday was a glorious sunny day and I had an outing with a treasured old friend, one that I have known for 30 years. We have many interests in common; we both love to walk and take pictures, but we don’t live close so these events have to be planned in advance. Time flies when I am with her. When I am feeling like someone who has been transported to a hostile planet, she brings me back home. She reminds me of who I was, and still am somewhere inside, despite the fact that I may feel transplanted, lost, and downright scared. You can’t put a price on that.

Yesterday we were walking around a graveyard and found this gravestone. We both loved it, read the words aloud together and took a photo.

Gravestone for Ann Ellery

A Loving Gravestone

 

There was a silent pause as we both thought about Ann, who we never had a chance to know. But my friend said it first, “She sounds great; I would feel lucky to have those things said about me.”  In the post-feminism age, these qualities may sound laughable to some. But the description makes me think of a Jane Austen heroine, vibrant and full of life, someone who must have been fun to talk to, and valued as a friend. It’s wonderful not to have to explain this, or excuse this thinking to my friend. I know we have more than surface things in common. We have deep values about what is important…this is why we are still friends despite the changes in our lives.

In case you can’t read it, this is how Ann Ellery is described:

To the memory of Ann Ellery…

In every aspect of life, she exhibited a becoming behavior,

was sensible and quick of apprehension,

spritely and agreeable in conversation,

hospitable, charitable, sincere and pious.

 

I have to say, I don’t believe we see these qualities too often in today’s selfish greedy society, and I think we are the worse for it. But I feel lucky to know some people who wouldn’t choose to put on their gravestone achievements or job descriptions, but a picture of a treasured human being.

Peter S says:

Ms J and I will walk around old burial grounds when we come across one. Nice to see we’re not the only ones. Most inscriptions are not as insightful about the person’s character as that one!

Like



sued51 says:

Peter, I had not seen one like that before either. I like to see the batches of markers together and piece together a family from a series of graves. I also like to see how long they lived. I’m always amazed when someone lived more than 70 years back in the 1600 or 1700s.

Like



bluebee says:

Old friends have stayed the distance and have loved us throughout. Precious.

Like



sued51 says:

Definitely, BB. 🙂

Like



rommel says:

Some times, that is all you need in life. That one thing, one person to cling in to …. and everything feels alright. Nice share, sued.

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks for your comment and visit, Rommel!

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
