Sued51's Blog











{February 6, 2014}   Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately)

The Daily Prompt mentions dishes, but I don’t mind doing dishes or any basic cleaning. Most physical cleaning chores can be performed in an almost meditative way.

Files

My most disliked chore is anything to do with paperwork and any chores involving sorting, filing, and organizing. I find making decisions about what to keep and what to throw out difficult, tiring and tedious. This leads to stacks of paperwork and canvas bags full of papers that have to be periodically sorted. I have the best of intentions, but I just can’t find time for EVERYTHING I am interested in.

As a writer, I keep every draft of a piece of work (still too often a hard copy), because I can have a tendency to over-edit, or rewrite a poem so extensively that it becomes a COMPLETELY different poem. At any given time I can go back to the original draft and send it in a different direction and create a different poem. And I have to admit, I can become fascinated with analyzing the process.

I know, I should be embracing the electronic age. Technology has been around long enough and has progressed far enough that I should be rid of this paper by now, but I’m being dragged kicking and screaming into the 21st century. Weaning myself away from paper products, be they books or notebooks, is hard work. And unfortunately, I suffer from the same problems on my computer…too many emails, too many files, too many versions of things…SIGH

[…] Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately) | Sued51′s Blog […]

Like



[…] Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately) | Sued51′s Blog […]

Like



[…] Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately) | Sued51′s Blog […]

Like



[…] Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately) | Sued51′s Blog […]

Like



[…] Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately) | Sued51′s Blog […]

Like



[…] Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately) | Sued51′s Blog […]

Like



[…] Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately) | Sued51′s Blog […]

Like



[…] Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately) | Sued51′s Blog […]

Like



bluebee says:

You’re not alone – that’s why there are people out there who do de-cluttering (electronic, and otherwise) for a living.

Like



sued51 says:

Still gotta make that decision, BB: to keep or not to keep, that is the question…:-)

Like



Peter S says:

In the basement workshop, I have a big tomato can filled with assorted bolts, screws, washers, all kinds of things. I would prefer to sort all those things out rather than do any kind of paper work organizing at all. I think I may have some unopened mail from last spring on my desk!

Like



sued51 says:

Unopened mail…my nemesis…

Like



Technology is so fast it’s hard to catch up. After every two years when my phone contract ends and I get an updated one, I hardly scratch the surface of my old one. What matters is we try, right?

Like



sued51 says:

You are right, as long as we never stop trying…

Like



Jo Bryant says:

I know this feeling…I have just been trying to trim the excess on my computer back a bit…oh boy

Like



sued51 says:

It’s brutal, isn’t it? You have been blogging longer than me, I think…when I think of the photos you must have…YIKES!

Like



Jo Bryant says:

you can say that again…and I had doubled up everywhere…quadrupled more like it in case I had a computer crash…or burglary [which was lucky for me when I did get burgled], but now I need to go through and sort out ones I will never use and get rid of them for good

Like



Cindi says:

I sure understand this as far as keeping every draft, and being able to go back to a draft and find it going in a completely different direction. A difference, though, is that I *love* to organize, and I get so over-organized I lose track of the big picture (and, sometimes, what draft I’m on)!!

Like



I. Can. Totally. Relate.

Like



Embracing the digital age has not helped me much. Now I have a dozen scandisks on top of all that paper. 🙂

Like



sued51 says:

Uh-huh…Technology does not allow me to let go any better…:-)

Like



Quirky T says:

It’s nice to know that another writer saves every draft like I do. I have two filing cabinets full of paperwork that I dread organizing. I have been putting it off forever.

Like



sued51 says:

I know why…:-)

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
