Sued51's Blog











{November 14, 2013}   A Journey that Started with a Song

A recent Daily Post topic was to write about a song. I actually wrote this post over a year ago on my “other blog.” I thought was worth a repost on this blog, considering My Last Train to QVille blog evolved into basically a photography blog…sometimes it is fun to revisit older blogs…

Last Train to QVille

The song, “Rattlesnakes” by Lloyd Cole and the Commotions is one of my favorite songs; I consider it part of the soundtrack of my life. It sent me on a journey, emotionally and intellectually; it reached its fingers out into different areas of my life. Here is the story.

I read the novel, Play It As It Lays by Joan Didion in a women’s literature class in college, and it hit me then. It hit me so hard emotionally I couldn’t write the required paper about it; I ended up writing a poem. My professor called me in for a meeting, “This isn’t an analysis, how can I grade this?” We actually had a good talk about my emotional reaction to the book and about my poem (I didn’t know the professor was a poet). When she was convinced I understood and appreciated the book, she gave me…

View original post 249 more words

Leave a Reply

et cetera
