Sued51's Blog











{November 6, 2013}   How NOT to Fail as a Blogger

Okay, I think we can all agree, “not failing” is not the same thing as “succeeding.” There are plenty of posts about how to succeed as a blogger (including this recent one)…and I don’t feel qualified to write another. If popular success is what you are looking for, this is not the place to find it. Why I am writing about “not failing”? I think I’m an expert at that, I’m not ashamed of it and I think a lot of discouraged bloggers could use the information.

“Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.” Winston Churchill

I will admit that seeing the movie “Julie and Julia” and a fascination with the story of that author’s road to success was part of what got me started blogging. But I didn’t follow that road, and somehow along the way, success morphed into not failing, which morphed into a vision of success completely different from the one I started with. How so?

“Success is stumbling from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”  Winston Churchill

I can honestly say that blogging sustained me and perhaps saved me during a difficult time in my life. I had lost all dreams, all joy, and did not know where to turn. Writing my blog gave me a (initially a very small) purpose, a motivation to look at my bleak life and find something interesting in it to write about. For the first year, the only feedback I received was in emails from friends and acquaintances who said they were enjoying reading it. This helped keep me going, gave me the little sustenance I needed to continue until I made friends, found a purpose, became part of the wonderful blogging community and felt at home there — no longer lost.

“There are three kinds of lies: lies, damn lies, and statistics.” Mark Twain OR Prime Minister Benjamin Disraeli. 

(I love that we don’t know who really came up with that quote)

“Facts are stubborn things, but statistics are pliable.” Mark Twain

After almost 4 years I have just over 300 followers. I’m sure that doesn’t sound like success to people who have managed to get thousands of followers in less than a year. I get that. But I’m grateful anyway. You have to go beneath the surface of the stats to understand why…what cynical people might call “spin-doctoring.” I have 300 followers, but I haven’t even written one year’s worth of posts! That means on average that every post I have written has touched at least one person! 

I write when I have time; I write when I think I have something to say. This is considered the “wrong” way to go about it; all the articles say that is not the way to attain blogging “success.” But I keep going. I enjoy it, It has become a very important element in my life. I have learned that I am not a quitter. I have not “succeeded” but I have not failed as a blogger and I’m proud of it. If you think that is the equivalent of every child getting a star on their paper, so be it. I like my star.

Versatile Blogger Award

My “Star” on My Paper

Take another look at your statistics and see what you see, feel what it makes you feel. Write on, my friends!

Peter S says:

Your blog was one of the first i started to read back when i started my own blog. Thanks to your series on the Boston music scene you brought back a lot of things that I had completely forgotten about!

Like



sued51 says:

Peter, you are one of the people that kept me going in the beginning. I SO appreciate it. Thank you!
I know I should get back to the music every once in a while. 🙂 Things are happening in my personal life that make that seem very far removed, but I’ll get back there. 🙂

Like



Peter S says:

Thanks, seems like you never know who might like any given post. I try to comment when I read a blog but I’m often too beat from running around with the four year old all day.

That time in Boston music seems so long ago, I can’t believe its 30 or so years ago!

Like



sued51 says:

I can’t believe it was so long ago either. Every time I see one of the musicians from then and see their grey hair (that matches my own)…yikes!

Like



Peter S says:

Willie Alexander just had his 70th birthday party, in Gloucester of course.

Like



frizztext says:

well said:
“…I write when I think
I have something to say. …
+
It has become a very
important element in my life…
+
I have not “succeeded”
but I have not failed as a blogger,
and I’m proud of it…”

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks, Frizz.

Like



I love this idea, because I think my new goal in all things is simply to “not fail.” I’ve put too much pressure on myself to succeed, but I think I was allowing my definition of success to be defined by others. I don’t want to do that any more. So now I am focusing on “not failing” as a blogger, a writer, and educator, a mother, an artist . . . basically, if I don’t fail at life, then that will be a life well lived.

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks for your comment, Lisa. I think success is usually defined by others using external metrics. I haven’t read it yet, but I saw that you had a post with a title: Best-Selling Author…Really??!! I’m sure I will like it…numbers aren’t everything…I have not read “Fifty Shades of Gray” and I don’t intend to…to me success is defined by how close you feel you are being to your authentic self.

Like



I really enjoyed your post about blogging. I will have been blogging for a whole year in January and have thoroughly enjoyed posting, I love having a purpose for my work and really appreciate all the likes and comments. I’m not competitive about it, I love knowing that people can enjoy reading my posts and are all over the world! 🙂

Like



sued51 says:

Yes! If you are doing it for the personal satisfaction and the connection with others, you can really enjoy it without feeling pressure!

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
