Sued51's Blog











{August 17, 2013}   The Latest and Greatest New Toy…

I recently spent some money on the cats to help them adjust to their new surroundings: a new cat tower, new scratching refill, and new toys. I was gratified that they have been using them. But…the favorite toy of the moment is once again a homemade toy. (See my blog about the first homemade toy here.)

A couple of years ago, my husband and I made chocolate lollipops at Christmas time. We had some leftover candy sticks; I find leftover crafting items perfect cat toy components. In this case, I figured if the sticks are safe for humans to chew on, they would likely be safe for the cats. I tied some leftover ribbon on a candy stick and — Β VOILA! — a new toy. My cats are very interactive and they definitely prefer toys that bring them in close contact with me. So I sit on the floor and dangle the toys for them. (Please excuse the quality of the pictures in this post…it’s hard to play with the cat with one hand and take decent pictures at the same time!)

cat play

Aimee watching her favorite toy

They like to grab the ribbons, but also they LOVE to chew on the stick!

closeup cat toy

We LOVE to chew on the stick…

The downside is that the ribbons slide right off and I have to keep putting them back on. To the cats — that’s part of the fun (Off–On–Off–On…). To glue the ribbons would be spoiling part of the game (for them). Sometimes they run off with ribbons streaming from their mouths. (I wish I caught a picture of THAT!)

Anyway, I recommend the local craft store as a go-to place for cat toys. πŸ™‚

cat playing

Aimee playing with her present favorite toy

Giovanni says:

Love cats. Getting another one.

Like



sued51 says:

Giovanni,
They are so much fun…and this is the first time in my life I’ve had more than one at a time…double the fun! πŸ™‚

Like



Sonel says:

Adorable! It’s fun and relaxing to play with the furry kids. πŸ˜€

Like



sued51 says:

It sure is, Sonel! I love to play with them and making something they really like makes me very happy!

Like



shez says:

I love cats! They certainly enjoy the simplest things in life πŸ™‚

Like



sued51 says:

They most certainly do! πŸ™‚

Like



frizztext says:

“…it’s hard to play with the cat
with one hand
and take decent pictures
at the same time”
with the other hand –
BUT thank you
for making another cat happy!

Like



djmrakiey says:

Absolutely adorable and cute !

Like



sued51 says:

Thank you…she’s a happy cat…

Like



djmrakiey says:

lucky you πŸ™‚ and her.

Like



Jo Bryant says:

oh Sue…who clever of you…

Like



sued51 says:

I only care that they LIKE it! πŸ™‚

Like



[…] have written before about making toys for my cats. They always seem to like them better than the ones I buy. My latest creation was a modified […]

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
