Sued51's Blog











{August 6, 2013}   Is Blog Reading a Measure of Friendship?

I was telling my mother (currently my best friend) about my last post on different kinds of friends. My mother said, “Well I can’t read it because I don’t have a computer.” Fair enough…I understand that and I don’t hold it against her.

I have been told by some friends: “I don’t have time to read blogs…sorry.” I also understand that and I don’t get angry; many of them work a lot of hours, and we all have our priorities and different ways of relaxing. I don’t go to some peoples’ “events” because I don’t have time or it doesn’t fit my lifestyle, but I am choosing NOT to make it a priority. It doesn’t mean I don’t care about them, but I know I am missing out on getting to know them better and sharing an experience that is part of their life. It IS a choice that I am making and I have to “man up” about that.

But acknowledging and understanding these responses as choices doesn’t stop me from thinking that because my friends and family don’t read what I write, they don’t know me as well as bloggers from across the globe who’ve never met me! What’s up with that?! Of course our blogging personas are different than our “real life” personas, but they are surely an aspect of who we are.

That got me curious…fellow bloggers…Do your friends and family read your blog?

Just for fun, fill out this quick poll and let’s see what we find out!

frizztext says:

My family and friends never read my blog (made a poll and sent it to twitter) – after a time accepted that fact: they have another bridges to understand me. On the other hand I am very lucky, that people, who never saw me, are able to understand me! So I have a 200% feeling of beeing not misunderstood!

Like



sued51 says:

Glad it isn’t just me, Frizz…but you have a great point that they have other ways to understand you. And after all, you have all your wonderful followers (of which I am one), who can’t wait to see what you post next. 🙂

Like



Peter S says:

Some friends and relatives know I have a blog, but I don’t try to encourage them to read it. I think knowing that they read it would affect how I write.

Like



sued51 says:

EXCELLENT point, Peter…I probably wouldn’t have chosen to write this post if I thought they were going to read it…LOL

Like



Jo Bryant says:

For me it is a bit of a mish mash. I always thought The Daughter never read it…until the occasional comment would slip out and I realised she must be. The Son apparently does…which was a huge surprise. Or maybe his girlfriend is the reader and she passes the info on…much more likely. Some friends read it faithfully…others not at all. Same with family. I always thought they didn’t because they never comment but now and then aI wonder because of things they say.

Like



sued51 says:

Ahhh…so you have stealth readers. 🙂

Like



An interesting note here, MAD, who is my owner and in a relationship with my publicist, just read Suffragette Kitty for the first time last week. He heard from his former wife that he gets mentioned from time to time. 🙂

Like



sued51 says:

Nobody can resist reading about themselves. 🙂

Like



I just nominated you for the ‘Versatile Blogger Award’. See it HERE: http://inherwordsavenue.com/2013/08/08/the-versatile-blogger-award. And enjoy, it is well deserved.

Like



A really interesting question. Most of my friends do follow me and often comment but for the life of me I cannot get my family interested! One of my 4 brothers does follow and sometimes comments but the others, their wives and my grown nieces and nephews don’t. Same thing on my in-law side. i must admit it bothers me, but I feel better thinking about the many former strangers who have become my blogging friends. For sure we all have a common interest—blogging!

Like



sued51 says:

Yes, some of my grown nephews read, but not regularly. It depends on the nature of the blog, of course, but because mine is rather journal-like, I feel like they are missing out on what my life is really like. After all, life is in the details…:-)

Like



My husband is a regular and so are some of my friends, but I would have to say, it is about 50/50 who reads and who doesn’t in my immediate circle.

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks for your comment. I don’t know if you looked at the poll answers, but it is amazingly even, which I find interesting.

Like



Actually, I did look at the results and I do think that is interesting. I think it just goes to show that every blogger is a bit different as is their circle of family and friends. Kind of cool if you ask me.

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
