Sued51's Blog











{July 19, 2013}   Home is Where the Cats Are…

My cats and I are country girls, used to quiet and beautiful window views. We are trying to settle into our small new space, which is located in a much noisier and busier area (the trade-off is that it is much more convenient to everything). The heat wave is dictating that we keep our blinds closed; we’re now surrounded by blacktop on the outside, surrounded by boxes on the inside. It feels stifling in more ways than one. I make use of the empty boxes as toys for the cats.

I play the stereo a lot to diminish the “city” noises of traffic and trains and keep the girls (and me) calmer. We all react to every sound…the upstairs neighbor coming down the stairs to leave for work in the morning; the maintenance man going about his business outside; cars passing within feet of our window on the way to the parking lot. But it is cozy and clean, and I can afford it.

It is still a small town, but we’re on a busy street, and the commuter train runs close behind our building. I try not to miss where I came from; I know I must embrace change and learn to love it. I know that though at times I feel like I’m in a big city, that is not reality. It is only when I compare it with the sleepy suburb surrounded by farms where we came from; it’s all relative. Mindset is everything.

We will all get used to it, given time. We’re together…that’s what matters.

cat lying on the floor

Zoee relaxing in her new space…

PS. There is no picture of Aimee because she is still spending most of her time hiding beneath the covers in the bed…but she did that at the old place too. Tabbies don’t change their stripes!!

PPS. It’s weird that I posted this yesterday and the daily prompt for today was about what makes home for you…

frizztext says:

your TITLE is so true!!!

Like



frizztext says:

Mindset is everything!!!

Like



sued51 says:

That it is, Frizz…I’m working on it!

Like



[…] Home is Where the Cats Are… | Sued51′s Blog […]

Like



Christi says:

Our apartment gets a little noisy, so we just run fans. The fans keep me from hearing every conversation my downstairs neighbors are having (in addition to a nice air flow in the apt). You’ll get used to it! 🙂

Like



sued51 says:

I’m sure I will Christi…right now, my cats freak out every time the lady upstairs comes home and goes up the stairs or if she drops anything. But we all become immune to the noises in our environment after some time.

Like



TBM says:

We live on a busy street as well and it took our dog and cat some time to get used to it. They did. Enjoy the new home.

Like



sued51 says:

I’m sure they will with time (and I will as well). 🙂

Like



Thanks for becoming a subscriber. Happy blogging.

Like



Beth says:

I hope you’re settling in a little more every day. In 2009 I went through a major downsizing and while it was difficult at first, it did get easier and I’ve found that simplifying helped me to appreciate the things I have and have achieved on my own. Best to you and the kitties! 🙂

Like



sued51 says:

Thank you, Beth. I believe all change creates growth. It is good to know it worked that way for you so I can hope for the same for myself. I’m sure we will get settled and our life will evolve in good ways. Thanks for the follow!

Like



[…] I moved over the summer from a rural farming town to a small but busy Boston suburb (you can read about my adjustment issues on my other blog), I didn’t expect to find a respite from the noise and bustle or nature within walking […]

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
