Sued51's Blog











{April 2, 2013}   Facebook Fatigue

Yesterday’s Daily Prompt Topic was about Social MediaDo you feel like you “get” social media, or do you just use it because that’s where all your friends and family are?

This topic was timely for me (although I’m not timely with the topic..heh-heh). I have recently developed a severe case of Facebook Fatigue. I “get” it, but I don’t “get” it.

I first joined Facebook to keep up with my nieces’ and nephews’ lives and see their pictures. In the beginning I posted some old photos I thought they would enjoy and occasionally I would post about an event or activity in my life. But that didn’t last long; I “friended” more people. I started to feel that my life could not compete and I started to post less and less. Everyone else’s life seemed more “impressive” than mine; I became almost completely a lurker, a liker, and a stealth user. I wasn’t optimizing my experience, but I was still enjoying some of other’s posts.

Then it happened…almost everyone I know is no longer sharing ANYTHING REAL. It has become almost exclusively the realm of the superficial and the self-promoters. I now find going on Facebook is like watching a channel that is completely made up of commercials and infomercials!  I know people need to advertise their causes, their businesses, their projects…but does almost every post have to be that? Every once in a while throw me a bone! Something with substance.

I don’t want to unfriend people (that can cause a permanent rift) and …if I were to use “hide” to cut back on things…well, I’d be hiding just about EVERYONE! It seems it has become the complete domain of the sales pitch, whether personal or professional.

One frustrating day I wrote this poem:

Facebook Fatigue

Your actions say I’m a fan, not a friend;

I’m not a stand-alone, I just blend in,

lost in a bramble of “likes”

where you don’t venture.

To separate us all is too much to do

and your “real work” needs you

more than you need me.

My need is irrelevant.

At least bloggers have etiquette. I have found most of them to be appreciative of their readers and audience; it is a community. Facebook seems to me to be one HUGE talking head, and to be honest, I’m tired of listening.

I agree! Love this post! 🙂

Like



sued51 says:

Thank you Afterglow! I almost dread checking it now. 🙂

Like



Peter S says:

It’s been close to a year since I checked my Facebook account! I’m finding the targeted ads to be a little creepy.

Like



sued51 says:

Me too, Peter. Very like Minority Report!

Like



Maggie says:

I could not agree more. I gave up Facebook several years ago, and I just recently deactivated my Twitter. I get so sick of hearing people self-promote all the time… ugh!

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks for reading and commenting Maggie!

Like



I’m not on Facebook, but maybe someday will be putting my business there. I do love the blogging though, much more than I thought I would. I love the content I find and the community. It doesn’t take the place of my “in person” community, but I have found a lot here, who knew 🙂

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks for commenting. Facebook really has become less personal and more a marketing tool so you will probably find it good for your business. If I were completely dependent on Facebook for my socializing and “community” I would be REALLY depressed. I really think I have found more “kindred” souls by blogging. 🙂

Like



Yeah, I really enjoy my blogging time 🙂

Like



Wow, I am glad I found this post. I was on Facebook for only 2 months to follow my nieces and nephews. Two months was all I could tolerate. Then I quit. Blogging seems better to me.

Like



ks3nia says:

hehe! Lovely little poem 😀 I’ve felt the FB-fatigue sometimes, but the funny thing is: when I should be self-promoting because my life is actually amazing, the I don’t really have time for Facebook and only check up on my friends once in a while :-p

Like



sued51 says:

So true…you are living REAL life! 🙂

Like



I totally agree. I rarely go near it any more, and never pst about myself. There is something rather needy about posting up everything you do, everyone you see, everywhere you visit. It’s a bit like shouting look at me, aren’t I wonderful….and I’ve never been good with people like that. It makes me feel like saying ‘Get over yourself, you really aren’t that great!’

Like



I cross post from my two blogs onto Facebook; figure that’s the best of both worlds.
(But the blogging community is by far the stronger.)

Like



sued51 says:

Touch, Thanks for your comment. I also “publicize” my blog on Facebook, but checking the stats…people rarely come to read the blog from there. But to have a well-rounded social media presence, you need to post there as well.

Like



[…] Network | cognitive reflection 59. Why is crap popular on the internet? | Quando Porci Volare 60. Facebook Fatigue | Sued51′s Blog 61. How to Make the Most of Your Social Media Experience? | women champion online 62. 1 April Daily […]

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
