Sued51's Blog











{March 15, 2013}   My First Poetry Slam

microphoneThe Brockton Arts hosted their first poetry slam last night at a college near me. I decided to check it out. They were having an open mike before the slam for poets to get up and read or recite a poem. I wanted to stretch myself out of my comfort zone.

Boy, was I glad I went. I discovered a new form of entertainment, a lot of talent, and a welcoming community — and some things I’d forgotten about myself.

Going to see local bands when I was in my early 20s was an energizing experience and stimulating for both my mind and my creativity. I had forgotten what it felt like to feel so alive and so…young. I felt twinges of that last night. The poets/performers had so much passion, energy, and talent. The atmosphere was intimate and warm, and the time flew by for me. Watching them felt like a combination of watching a play and watching live music. It has been way too long since I have done either of those things, mostly because of the money involved. I had no excuse here…this was free and fabulous.

To be honest, I wasn’t sure I was going to enjoy it because I don’t like rap music. The repetitious bass beat for some reason makes me feel like I want to slug somebody. But I really enjoyed this…the word play was great and I could actually hear it because I wasn’t distracted by the music. Many of them were extremely polished in their voices and stage presence; others were nervous and at times forgot the words. But their nervousness just made me like them and admire them all the more. A door to my nurturing self opened inside me as I watched them: I was face to face with an old dream to be a teacher. They made me want to be INVOLVED in  the world, instead of hiding from it.

The winner of the slam and several other performers recited religious poems, filled with belief and passion. I was reminded of the energy of a southern Baptist church. Not what I expected at all. What a wonderful surprise!

TBM says:

Glad you enjoyed!

Like



sued51 says:

I’m still amazed at what I saw!

Like



Great that you enjoyed it! These events definitely expand your horizons, and more so than you would expect. I also recently took the plunge and read at an poetry open-mic night. I wrote a little about it here:

http://thoughtsatintervals.com/2013/03/11/the-many-surprising-sides-of-poetry/

Best wishes,
Andrew

Like



sued51 says:

Andrew…I read your post and commented. Thank you for reading mine and taking the time to comment because it made me discover yours. All the best! Sue

Like



No problem and thanks for reading. I left a reply to your comment and now I’m looking forward to reading the rest of your posts about poetry!
Cheers,
Andrew

Like



Could we share this on our website?

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
