Sued51's Blog











{March 6, 2013}   A Writer’s Sense of Service

Julia Cameron's booksI have recently been rereading Julia Cameron‘s books to give my creativity a boost, but it’s also been making me think about being a writer with a “sense of service” or an “attitude of gratitude.” I decided that what I really like about Julia’s books is her teacher’s sensibility and her nurturing attitude. I’m not naive enough not to recognize that she’s trying to sell books, but I see some sincerity there. I think she truly believes in writing as the salvation and glorious gift it can be and wants others to experience that feeling. It lead me to thinking about being “of service” as a writer and what that means.

One of my coworkers writes poems for her church in her spare time. Her church publishes them in their program and sometimes they read them as a congregation. I think this is a wonderful use of her gift. This is her third Easter performing this service and if you think it is easy to keep seeing a topic in a new way and creating fresh material, then you haven’t tried to do it.

For myself, it has been most gratifying to me when I have been able to write a poem for a friend going through some kind of worry or difficulty: a death in the family or a sibling serving overseas. This is one way I can be “of service” as a writer.

How else can we be of service as writers? The most important way is to encourage and nurture other writers; this is what I feel Julia does very successfully. This type of service could be as small and simple as “liking” someone’s work on Facebook or a blog, or attending a poetry reading. If you feel confident and can take an interest, critique their work in a positive and constructive way. If you have extra money, you could purchase their book. Give them the kudos they need and deserve for completing such an undertaking.

Funny thing, though, I think a lot of writers, once they start to have a following forget what it was like to need that support. They forget what it was like to be someone struggling to find their voice, struggling to feel that what they have to say is relevant. Many writers write because they have a need to be heard. If they don’t feel heard, they give up, and I believe the world loses something important. We let jealousy stand in the way of being of service as writers. (See the video where Julia addresses this topic.)

I believe every writer, famous or not, has a duty to encourage other writers; they are performing a very important service if they do. So…you bloggers reading this…go out and like someone’s blog, comment on someone’s poem…do your part to keep the world writing!

babso2you says:

Thank you for signing up to follow my blog! I hope that you will enjoy my posts! Also, you are my 500th follower! Wahoo and thank you! – B

Like



sued51 says:

Wow…that’s great…maybe it is a good omen. 🙂

Like



donnajbenson says:

Nicely said. It doesn’t matter whether you are a writer, nurse, office worker or any other job, we all need encouragement in our lives. It is one of the things Believers are called to do. Many are quick to find fault, but we need to be quick to over look the fault and find something positive and encouraging. Thank you for the reminder. I am glad you shared your blog on linked in. http://fleetothemountains.com/

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks for coming to check it out, Donna. I’ll be checking yours out too! Susan

Like



Pat says:

Thanks for the great post – your ideas have substance. After working for many years in careers that gave meaning to my life – in which I believed I was of service to others – I had to retire for health reasons. I finally realized that my service to others (the meaning of my life) was to bring joy and maybe new learning to people through my blogging. It was a big shift, right down to shifting writing voice from technical and academic to personal and entertaining. It seems to be working for me – and you are so right. The likes and the followers tell me that what I am doing has meaning. I now take great joy in supporting the bloggers I follow and looking for their support. Thanks for deciding to follow my blog.

Like



sued51 says:

Pat,
You are definitely on the right track. There are those moments in our lives when we are given the message (even if we don’t want to hear it) that the time has come for change and a new purpose.
Glad you found me and I found you and we can be part of each other’s journey.

Like



Pat says:

🙂 I’ll second that!

Like



[…] includes reading a chapter of a book about writing and then writing my “morning pages” (as coined by Julia Cameron). I am currently reading “Writing in Flow: keys to enhanced creativity” by Susan K […]

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
