Sued51's Blog











{February 8, 2013}   Using Bookmarks

bookmarks, reading, books

Bookmark gifts

As you can see, I’m not talking electronic bookmarks here. I’m talking about those items that you stick between the pages of paper books. I have received many of them over the years as simple gifts, made of so many different materials: metal, paper, cardboard.Β The photo shows just a few; there are countless others still stuck in books that I abandoned mid-read. My bookshelves are probably full of twice as many.

So you would think I would use them, right? Nope…I’ve recently taken to using scraps of paper as bookmarks. I find myself writing down words I don’t know, or jotting down references and subjects that I want to look up later. The scraps with scribbles go into a small box on my desk for when I have some free time on the computer (which isn’t often, I must admit).Β I felt like I wasn’t getting enough out of my reading by skipping over words or using the context to guess at their meaning. I felt I was giving up opportunities to learn!

I’m wondering, how many of you still use bookmarks?

Ivynettle says:

I love bookmarks – using them, buying them, making them myself… Although I use a lot of random stuff as bookmarks as well, grocery store receipts, train tickets, scraps of paper… There’s at least one bookmark that has a shopping list written on it, because that was the only place I would reliably see it on the way home from work, and remember to go shopping, and another that I chewed on while reading an exciting chapter… I mistreat my bookmarks just as much as my books!

Like



sued51 says:

LOL!! Thanks a riot, Ivy…I use all kinds of things too. If you mistreat your books you’ll like another blog I have coming up…stay tuned!

Like



I do!
Even if spend too much time on the computer, I still prefer reading a book that I can hold in my hands and put a bookmark in when I have to put it down.

Like



sued51 says:

I think we are getting to be a rare breed, we who love real books and bookmarks! πŸ™‚

Like



Christi says:

I use bookmarks, too (gotta love “real” books), although I frequently use whatever is nearby, just like the little scraps you mentioned. πŸ™‚

Like



sued51 says:

It’s funny, isn’t Christi that we use scraps when we have these lovely bookmarks to use? I’ve been known to use receipts, gum-wrappers, you name it. I guess that’s why people kept giving me the bookmarks for gifts…lol!

Like



tita buds says:

I do! I collect bookmarks and use them (and talk about them too much, I think). πŸ™‚

Like



sued51 says:

Tita,
I like them a lot and have quite a collection myself. Just don’t USE them as much as I should. Glad you use yours! (And I wouldn’t mind talking about them, either) πŸ™‚

Like



I keep my bookmarks in a drawer next to where I read. However, (and a big however) I always use pull out cards from magazines or odd scraps of paper or envelopes because I never seem to remember about the bookmarks.

Like



sued51 says:

I just “rediscovered” my stash of bookmarks. I might just have to make it POINT to use them! πŸ™‚

Like



I do! My favorites are the homemade ones πŸ™‚

Like



sued51 says:

Yes, I like those too! I used to have some made of felt and material. One year I made one for each of my coworkers: I did “collaged” bookmarks with pictures tailored to each of their interests. πŸ™‚

Like



Well, that would be a cool gift to receive πŸ™‚

Like



Annina says:

I have a lot of bookmarks too, and I just made a bunch with quotes (which is why I searched this tag out of curiosity for others’ bookmarks). I also tend to buy them as nice small souvenirs when travelling, and I do like to use them. However, like so many others have said, I end up using a lot of other things a lot of the time. It’s mainly because if I start a book when I’m not at home or close to a bookmark, I just use whatever I have close by, like scraps of paper, receipts, paper napkins, the little gym schedule, post-its… I try to remember to replace it later with a real bookmark, but often I forget.

Like



sued51 says:

Annina,
Thanks for the visit and the comment!
I had written a long comment back that disappeared into the ether so I’ll do my best to start again…
I like the idea of them as souvenirs, inexpensive and useful.I also love receiving them as gifts, especially when it feels like someone thought about what suited my personality. It is funny how many of us love them and collect them, but end up using scraps or whatever is handy.
Someday if paper books go away (Horror!) bookmarks will be collectors’ items!

Like



[…] The last blog about bookmarks lead me to thinking about book care. I figured bookmarks were created to keep people from folding back the corners of pages (as a tool for book care), but I had no idea of their history until I found this link. Interesting! (I should have used that link in the last blog.) […]

Like



TBM says:

I always buy more bookmarks since I keep losing them in my books, but I use them on a daily basis.

Like



sued51 says:

Yes, I’ll bet if we went through all the books in our bookshelves we’d have a pile of bookmarks!

Like



I used post it notes, keeps my page and gives me a place to write since the library frowns on marked up pages. πŸ™‚
Toni

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
