Sued51's Blog











{November 2, 2012}   A Fan’s History of 80’s Boston Bands: Z is for…

Zulus. There really was a Boston band beginning with “Z.”  The Zulus were made up of former members of Human Sexual Response, the band I wrote about for the letter “H.” It took a while for them to settle on that name. Some might argue that they were more successful and more influential than HSR; their style of music was harder rocking than HSR, but I don’t think it was as creative. I would love to have posted a link to a YouTube video, but I think the quality of the posted videos is poor.

But I can’t let “Z” go without bringing up one of my favorite songwriters: Z is also for Zevon. Though he is not from Boston, Warren Zevon did have a Boston connection: he recorded “Life’ll Kill Ya” (2000) at Fort Apache studios in the New England Area. (I mentioned Fort Apache in my post about The Sex Execs.)

I was lucky enough to see him in Boston in the 1980’s at a club called The Metro. (I think I attended that club in at least 3 different decades when it had at least 4 different names.)

Warren Zevon at The Metro in 1980’s

Warren Zevon at The Metro in 1980’s

He looks like a “Excitable Boy” in these photos — so young and vibrant; it is hard to believe that he is gone. I still hear his songs on the radio: “Werewolves of London”, “Lawyers, Guns, and Money” and, of course, “Excitable Boy” — 80’s classics. And so I end this series with a pang of regret…

Sue P says:

I saw Warren Z. at the Orpheum, I think, around 1979 or 1980. You didn’t work that show?! 😉

Like



sued51 says:

No, I didn’t start working there until ’81 or ’82.

Like



Peter S says:

Larry Bangor of The Zulus had that wailing otherworldly voice. Their song ‘Never Agin’ was always a favorite of mine with it’s chorus of ‘I think…… I am…not gonna fall for your…. old tricks again!!!”

Never saw Warren Zevon, but I did see his final appearance on the David Letterman show, on which he was the only guest for the night. ‘Enjoy every sandwich!’

Well that was fun. You should do something else like a series of posts on the concerts you saw while working at the Orpheum.

Like



sued51 says:

I might Peter. I had the notion it would have made a good comedy sitcom and wrote down notes for stories because it seems like I am forgetting more every day. 😦
I haven’t a clue how to write a screenplay so maybe the blog will just have to be good enough. 🙂

Like



Peter S says:

Well you certainly helped me to remember a lot of these bands, I should have bought more of these records, but I was too poor to get a lot of them at the time. At least there’s YouTube to also help jog the old memory of those days!

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
