Sued51's Blog











{August 12, 2012}   A Fan’s History of 80’s Boston Bands: S is for…

Now I know I should say The Stompers but, similar to my experience with the Fools, I never really liked them. They always struck me as arrogant, and yet, they are obviously talented or they wouldn’t be still at it.

No, I’m choosing a short-lived band I went to see several times called the Sex-Execs (great gig memory: Sex Execs and Lou Miami at the In-Square Men’s Bar).

I found two of their songs on YouTube:  “My Ex”  and Tami-itis. They really did dress in suits like on the photo at the left and the “My Ex” video. They made very danceable music, and they had a saxophone and a harmonica! Great stuff!

I found this brief Sex Execs history on the web site for saxophonist Ed GershonGershon was quickly inducted into the Boston power pop/soul/punk band the Sex Execs in 1982. The Sex Execs included guitarist/saxophonist/double-visionary Sean Slade and bassist/producer Paul Kolderie, who have gone on to produce dozens of rock hits, including the recent “God Bless the Go-Gos.” Also aboard was harmonica wiz Jim Fitting (later of Treat Her Right and The The), and drummer Jerome Deupree. According to Wikipedia, musician/producer Joe Harvard and members of the Sex Execs, engineers Paul Q. Kolderie, Sean Slade, and Jim Fitting built Fort Apache Studios as a collective in 1985. 

Not sure I would really call them “punk”, but I agree with the “power pop/soul” part of the description. Listening to their music now, there are elements of other 80’s bands like ABC. And yet, their image preceded the early 90’s lounge revival that produced bands like Squirrel Nut Zippers.

The band was a finalist in the 1983 WBCN Rock and Roll Rumble. Unfortunately for them, they were up against Aimee Mann (who I LOVE) and “Til Tuesday, who would go on to be signed to a major label contract and achieve national success.

peters154 says:

My Ex is a fun song, with a fun video too. Yet another area band that should have been bigger.

Agree with you on The Stompers, I saw them once with The New Models opening. I went to see The New Models so I’m a little biased. As musicians The New Models were much better than The Stompers, but The Stompers did always try to be energetic when playing live, even though they sounded like they were trying to copy the E Street Band too much for my taste.

Like



sued51 says:

Yes, New Models were good musicians.
You are right about the Stompers sound…that’s probably part of the reason for the popularity.

Like



[…] back then mirrored music writer Brett Milano’s as he expressed it in his 1996 article.  (I mentioned before I wasn’t a Stompers fan.) Beyond his age, he just wasn’t memorable for me. With research, I did find a blog with some […]

Like



[…] But I can’t let “Z” go without bringing up one of my favorite songwriters: Z is also for Zevon. Though he is not from Boston, Warren Zevon did have a Boston connection: he recorded “Life’ll Kill Ya” (2000) at Fort Apache studios in the New England Area. (I mentioned Fort Apache in my post about The Sex Execs.) […]

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
