Sued51's Blog











{July 24, 2012}   How a Pickie Eater Became a Foodie: Part 3

The final piece to the food puzzle for me was learning to appreciate the extra dimension that the right beverage adds to the meal.

When I crossed the momentous bridge in America that is the legal drinking age, I drank cheap American draft beer even though I hated it. When I went out to a club, I would splurge on a Kahlua Sombrero or — horrors — a Sloe Gin Fizz (the thought of it now makes me sick), but that was only to loosen up and have fun. It was almost a necessary evil; I hated alcoholic beverages because I drank the cheap stuff.

I was never crazy about soda even when I was very young, so my usual beverage with a meal was water or milk. Although sparkling water is my go-to beverage now (and I find it helps my digestion), I like to have a craft beer every once in a while, or a special wine when it adds an extra dimension to the meal; the most common example would be a special beer with mexican food or red wine with Italian food. There’s nothing worse than the wrong red wine with an Italian meal that makes the tomato sauce taste acidic!

When I first started drinking red wine, I started with less tannic varieties like Merlot or Pinot Noir. My husband and I pretty much drank Merlot with everything back in the 90’s when it was the IT wine; I rarely touched white wine. As years went by, we have tried other varieties. Right now I love the Italian table wines like Montepulciano and Sangiovese with our pasta meals. And the summertime means I’m finally enjoying Rose and white table wine. I’m working at a wine distributor so I am branching out more and more and loving it! I still have to ask our resident wine expert at work for suggestions when my husband is making a special meal, but I’m learning. The right wine with the right food is truly something to savor.

lemontree1 says:

I agree….the right wine with an Italian meal is almost more important than the meal itself 😀 I’m engaged to an Italian, so we always have white and red wine in the house 🙂

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks for the comment. The Europeans definitely have the right attitude when it comes to wine. Some of the everyday wines are wonderful and definitely add to the meal!

Like



Paula says:

Keep me posted on your wine discoveries. I am a great fan of Merlot 😉

Like



sued51 says:

Sure Paula…there’s some wonderful wine out that that is not expensive!

________________________________

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
