Sued51's Blog











{July 9, 2012}   A Fan’s History of 80’s Boston Bands: N is for Neighborhoods

Just as anyone who grew up on the South Shore in the 60’s or 70’s recognizes the shot of the Paragon Park roller coaster on the Neighborhoods single, “No Place Like Home/Prettiest Girl”, anyone who went to clubs in the 70’s and 80’s knows of or has seen The Neighborhoods. Like the Atlantics, they did get signed to a major record label, yet it never led to commercial success.

Attending a Neighborhoods’ gig was such a varied experience; they were always great, but their audience changed. They attracted an audience that liked great pop songwriting, but also punk rockers and slam dancers, and there was even a “metal” phase. Which audience showed up was often based on the other band on the bill.

I saw them countless times, yet, I have no photographs. I think because they were one of Eric’s favorite bands I left the photography to him. With the Neighborhoods, Eric didn’t need to me to break the ice; he would always talk to them.

I remember one gig in particular: it was an all ages show, a rare daytime gig, when they were playing with the Outlets. (I’ll tell a story about this when I get to “O”.) We got to the gig early, and I remember Eric talking to the drummer, Mike and his girlfriend/fiance for quite a while. (I think they were planning on moving away from Boston? My memory is like a still photograph on this: I remember it being daylight and us standing by Mike’s drum kit and no one else around…)

David Minehan was the ultimate front man: an animated ball of energy who looked great while he performed. After playing in another band called the Stardarts, he became a producer. The ‘Hoods were fun to watch, to listen to, and to dance to; they had it all. Another great Boston band that should have made it big…

Now I’m going to be singing “Prettiest Girl” in my head for the rest of the day!

Like



sued51 says:

🙂 It’s definitely an earworm!

Like



[…] were at the all ages daytime gig where the Outlets opened for The Neighborhoods (dream gig as far as Jane was concerned). There was piles of speakers set up in a “garage […]

Like



[…] with many of the other bands I have written about like The Atlantics and Neighborhoods, they had a major label contract but it didn’t lead to success. The album just didn’t […]

Like



Tom@Commuter Rock says:

Yes! The ‘hoods were awesome. My favorite ‘N’ band from the area has got to be New England!

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks for following me. I was happy to find your site. 🙂

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
