Sued51's Blog











{May 19, 2012}   A Fan’s History of 80’s Boston Bands: G is for…

I know…I’m cheating again, but I promise I will get better after this…and this is a good story. (The only Boston band I can think of beginning with “G” is Guster, and though I like the band, they were playing out long after I gave up going to clubs.)

Eric always had an ear for talent, so when he wanted to go to the Channel on a Wednesday night to see a band called “Great Buildings” from LA, Jane and I were game. When we got there, the place was deserted. Even the doorman seemed surprised to see us. The band members were walking around. Eric pointed out the bass player (Ian Ainsworth) and said, “Go talk to him,” so, of course I did. He was wearing an “Asteroids” t-shirt so I think that was how I started the conversation. Eric and Jane were soon beside me. We made sure there was no silence so he would feel awkward if he walked away. We just keep talking to him as if we knew him. Eric mentioned that I was going to LA next week (my parents were living there at the time). Finally there was a lull and Ainsworth said, “Who ARE you people?!” We admitted we were just fans, which actually seemed to make him feel better (his fear that we were someone he should know but didn’t remember was assuaged).

We all laughed about it after he walked away — all night we imitated his “Who ARE you people?!”

I don’t think the band lasted all that long after that gig, but two of the band members went on to form other bands. Their big hit? A little ditty used as a theme song for a TV show: “I’ll Be There for You” (the theme song for “Friends”). I later saw The Rembrandts at an Earth Day celebration concert at the Hatch Shell in Boston — a long way from a Wednesday gig at the empty Channel…(click on Channel for a great link to somebody’s blog describing the Channel)

Jane Williamson says:

Ahahah! I forgot about that one. Thanks for taking me back to a great time in my life:)

Like



sued51 says:

Jane, Always glad to do it!! 🙂

Like



ELaw says:

still love the Great Buildings album. I am so glad you are doing this blog because i dont remember any of these stories…..There was supposed to be second ablum that never came out but was released on cd recently..http://www.amazon.com/Extra-Epic-Everything-Great-Buildings/dp/B002WDL5KM/ref=sr_1_2?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1337608834&sr=1-2
Ian and Danny’s band prior to Great Buildings, the Quick put out one of my all-time favorite albums, “Mondo Deco”.

Like



sued51 says:

You know…I think I have The Quick album also! I think I bought it on your recommendation!

I’m glad you appreciate the memories…I remember stuff from years ago better than I remember yesterday. 🙂 I’m afraid if I don’t write them down they’ll be gone forever…

Like



ELaw says:

trying to of “G” bands that we might have seen but also drawing a blank. Saw Gang Green a couple of times but that wouldnt be your thing. could only come up with the Gremmies that side project of Richie Parsons but i never saw them live.

Like



sued51 says:

It’s hard to believe there wasn’t something for every letter, but…it gets better as the alphabet goes on…What was the name of the band Springer was in? Was that Gang Green?

Like



peters154 says:

You’re bringing back lots of memories of growing up in Boston listening to WBCN, especially their Battle of the Bands competition every year.

Guster seemed to be huge for a few years, especially with their ‘Fa-Fa-Fa’ song.

I think Gang Green won the WBCN Battle of the Bands competition one year and had a video played a lot on the old local video channel, V66.

And in case no one else has answered yet.. Springa was in SSD, which i used to see spelled out a few different ways, Society System Decontrol, or Social Services Decontrol.

Like



sued51 says:

Yes! Now I remember SSD! Thanks for answering that!
Ah…V66…our local precursor to MTV…I have all those same memories (as you can tell)…
Thanks for coming by!

Like



peters154 says:

And I was wrong, it was WBCN’s Rock and Roll Rumble, not ‘Battle of the Bands”

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
