Sued51's Blog











{May 4, 2012}   A Fan’s History of 80’s Boston Bands: E is for…

The first thing that came to my mind was Elliot Easton, the Cars guitarist, but I never saw The Cars live and have no special memories of him. Then there’s Extreme…but again, I never saw them live. I HAVE to cheat. There are two important “E” band moments that come to my mind, but both involve “national” bands.

The first concert I ever attended was Boz Scaggs, Fleetwood Mac, and the Eagles at Shaffer Stadium. I was only in high school; I had not yet met Eric and Jane, so I was simply a radio junkie. The Eagles were the draw for me; I didn’t know anything about the opening acts. Lo and behold, I liked Boz Skaggs, but I loved Fleetwood Mac! The Eagles ended up being the letdown of the night. But what a night…the traffic jam after the show kept us out until the wee hours of the morning. It was one of those “growing up” moments. I went out the next day and bought Fleetwood Mac’s White Album and Rumors.

Ten years later: the other “E” memory involves the E Street Band. Everyone I knew told me that Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band were terrific live, but I could never get a ticket. Then, it happened: Jane succeeded in getting tickets to see them in Providence. Unfortunately it coincided with a night class I was taking. I was working full-time at a boring dead-end job and in the process of trying to figure out what I wanted to do next with my career. I thought it was time I was mature and got my priorities straight. With regret, I gave up my ticket. For a while after that Springsteen went off on his own. I thought I would never get another opportunity to see him with the E Street Band.

Flash forward to 2003: they were touring together again. And they were playing the first concert ever at Fenway Park, one of my favorite places! I made a huge decision (the kind of decision I could never make now with my frugal lifestyle): I paid $500 for two tickets from a “scalper” I found online. It was a huge risk for me; they could have been fake. I was so nervous that day, waiting for the FedEx package to come. When the doorbell rang I raced to the door and ripped the package open. They looked real enough. My husband and I decided to make a real event of it; we rented a limo to take us there.

It was a fabulous night! Great weather, a full moon, and the show was great. Now that Clarence Clemons is dead, it will not be repeated. It was a special night I will remember forever and I don’t regret it one bit.

My very first “top tier” concert was Bruce Springsteen and the Born in the USA tour. It was at the “Mistake by the Lake” – Exhibition Stadium on the Lake in Toronto, and it was 3+ hours of intense rock’n’roll. I fell deeply and permanently in love with The Boss, and he set the bar for concerts that has only rarely been met since. Reading your account brought that night right back – thanks for reminding me! Now I’m off to find the Springsteen on my iPod….

Like



sued51 says:

I’m glad! He is definitely one of the best live performers ever! The other is U2…

Like



Gary says:

Got to say I agree with almost everything. Had a ticket to Springsteen years ago missed it because I was driving a cab and got a fare that took me far away and I didn’t get back on time. Still kicking myself. The eagles saw at the garden. I was very excited but I thought they were boring live. I liked a lot of deep cuts on their early albums but the concert was almost exclusively they’re greatest hits. The music was note perfect but there were no surprises. I could have put there greatest hits on and had the same experience. I saw Fleetwood Mac during the Tusk score. I was a huge Fleetwood Mac fan at the time and in fact I still in. I remember the tickets were an unheard of expensive $20 and there were a few empty seats with people scalping tickets. The show was awesome. The most impressive thing was what a fantastic guitarist Lindsey Buckingham. A lot of his style was straight jacketed in the Fleetwood Mac style.

Like



sued51 says:

Gary, Thanks for your comments.
Lindsey Buckingham is awesome! They are all fabulous musicians. Rumors was just coming out when I saw them.
And yes, I have seen the Eagles a few times and found them pretty boring live.

Like



ailsapm says:

Gotta love the Boss! Thanks for stopping by my site and liking my post so I could discover yours. x

Like



sued51 says:

Glad you enjoyed it and thanks for the visit! 🙂

Like



[…] going to clubs; it was Queen at Boston Garden. In comparison to my virgin concert experience (the Eagles/Fleetwood Mac/Boz Skaggs that I blogged about for the letter “E”), Queen was colorful, flamboyant, and loud! The costumes were great and Freddie Mercury was […]

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
