Sued51's Blog











{April 25, 2012}   302 Days ’til 40: Are Computers Crushing Community?

This is a very thought-provoking blog. My husband and I often have conversations regarding the use of computers as tools rather than as the center of your life. I may be old fashioned, but I value chance encounters with strangers and often record them in a notebook for future writing. For example the following: My husband and I took a walk in a local mall because the weather outside was cold and snowy. They just added a Nordstrom’s so I wanted to check it out. The best way to check anything out is to use the bathroom (how big is it? how clean is it?). Two women were right behind me when I walked in. As we each went into stalls (since it was a big bathroom), one woman said, “How about that…there’s a lucky penny in my stall.” This prompted me to look down, “I’ve got a lucky quarter in mine!” I said. The third woman said, “Bummer…there’s no money in mine. I picked the wrong one!” We all started laughing. Great moments in life with perfect strangers…

Fortuitous Forty!!!

Technology has destroyed interrelations in the human community. ~ Theodore Roszak

View original post 767 more words

Leave a Reply

et cetera
