Sued51's Blog











{April 9, 2012}   Dreaming of Shopping

I used to be interested in dreams. (I had so many strange ones and loved to talk about them, to the chagrin of whoever lived with me at the time: mother, roommate, husband.) This interest resulted in one of my friends giving me a book about interpreting dreams (probably hoping that would shut me up). The book related the meaning of certain common dreams like dreams of losing your teeth, drowning or falling through the air. I have almost never had such dreams; for me, recurring dreams involve being late for school or work and not letting anyone know, or trying to tell someone something and having nothing come out of my mouth.

I also remember reading that dreams are our brain’s way of working out conflicts that occur in our waking life. When I worked full-time, I most often dreamed of my workplace and the people I worked with (after all, I spent 8 hours a day with them). Now that I work part-time at a non-stressful job, dreaming of work is rare. The interesting thing to me is that recently I have had dreams about shopping. How common is that?

My husband and I adopted a frugal lifestyle a few years ago, first out of necessity then out of choice. We have learned to evaluate our purchases before we make them. We buy very little that we don’t need and very few items from the “want” column. It is a healthy permanent change in our values. As an ancillary change, I look at my time differently too. I work out and read a lot to take care of my health. There’s very little time spent wandering in stores browsing.

But lately I’ve noticed a difference in my dreams. I sometimes dream of shopping. I did not do that in the past. I wondered if it means that I have not completely accepted my new life? My conscious mind knows I do not need more books, clothes or music cds, but somewhere inside me there’s someone saying, “Wouldn’t it be fun?”

In my past life, I would spend hours lost in bookstores and come out with a full bag. Last week I tried something new; I allowed myself some time to look at books at a store. It was a nice treat (only ½ hour), and I didn’t buy anything. I think maybe that was all I needed, because I haven’t dreamed of shopping since.

Colline says:

Sometimes just the act of browsing is relaxing: it allows you some time off from your daily activities. Maybe seeing others’ creativity is soothing to your soul. And if you want to read the book, you can always check if the library has it 🙂

Like



sued51 says:

You’re right Colline…browsing is a form of dreaming and escape from everyday chores. We use the library a lot: we check out dvds of tv series; I also do Paperback Swap and swap books I have read for ones I want to read. The trouble with that is learning delayed gratification…sometimes you are pretty far down on the list for a particular book! I don’t usually get books from the library because I’m a slow reader; I savor the words like food. 🙂

Like



Colline says:

The paperback swap is a brilliant idea! As you say, you can take your time and do not have to return books unfinished to the library.

Like



I used to have a recurring dream where all my teeth would fall out. It was like I had a mouth full of marbles until I started to spitting them out one at a time. I haven’t had it in a long time though. 🙂

Like



sued51 says:

Believe it or not, that one was in the book. If I can find it I’ll let you know what it means! Thanks for stopping by Laura!

Like



Oh I’d love to know what it means! 🙂

Like



Giovanni says:

I appreciate your post, sued51. In my practice as a therapist I often help individuals interpret their dreams. I like the way in which you’ve already started to understand it’s message by musing about what it means. I’ve always found the following three questions to be helpful: 1/What is the central emotion? 2/If you could take a snapshot of the dream what would you see? 3/If a newspaper headline were written about the dream, what would it be? I remember recently making a similar comment in a blog; hope it wasn’t yours – don’t want to repeat myself. When you’ve understood your dream, let us know.

Like



sued51 says:

Giovanni,
Thanks for commenting on the post. I like your three questions. I think I most often about question 1…how do I feel when I wake up? I am used to my dreams being so much more complicated than dreaming about shopping. I meant this post to be a little lighthearted. If you think about Maslow’s needs though, I am much far down in the pyramid right now (financial problems cause you to worry much more about your safety and security needs). I had kind of assumed it to be about freedom.

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
