Sued51's Blog











{February 11, 2012}   Inexpensive Tips for Happy Kitties

Like most pet owners, I enjoy spoiling my kitties. They have countless toys, several beds and a kitty tower. Every time I go to the pet store I am tempted to buy them something else they don’t need. I have discovered two things they really like that are relatively inexpensive, and I thought I would share it with other pet owners.

I know there are some cats that like “free” stuff like paper bags or bread ties; mine are not that easy. I have spent countless dollars on toys that they have played with once or twice, which then end up in their “toy box” covered with dust.

Through trial and error, my husband and I discovered that their favorite toy is silk string. We bought a 3-pack at a craft store for under $4.00; it is supposed to be for jewelry-making. The kitties seem to like the feel of the string between their toes and in their mouths. They go crazy when we take it out!! Be sure to tie knots in the ends of the string to keep it from fraying completely and don’t leave the string around when you are not home to supervise.

My kitties also love flannel and polartec material for bedding. The large chain pet stores charge $10 to $20 for animal blankets. Some people use old towels; animal shelters are always looking for those. My mother used to get old baby blankets at the local Thrift stores for her dachshunds, which is fairly inexpensive, but I have found it cheaper to go to the fabric store and get remnants for less than $2. The kitties love the material. When we bought our cat “tree” they didn’t use it until I put a piece of flannel on the top platform. Now one of the kitties sleeps there all the time!

Lovin' my flannel blanket

coolfeline says:

That looks so nice …it’s really seem to enjoying itself up there 🙂

Like



sued51 says:

She loves it…my other cat doesn’t go near it.

Like



coolfeline says:

they’re impossible to figure out …I’d never buy anything expensive, because you never know whether he’ll like it.

My McDuff has taken a liking to an old piece of left-over wall-to-wall carpet…and that’s It.

Like



Great tips! 🙂 Mine love bubble wrap and the handles of paper bags.

Like



sued51 says:

Bubble wrap…I love bubble wrap myself! 🙂

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
