Sued51's Blog











{May 31, 2011}   A Blog by any Other Name…

I’m back…sort of. I’ve been working three part-time jobs and the blog got put on the back burner.

In the meantime, we had a dinner party that included a couple who told me they discussed my blog (or lack thereof). The wife, who is a childhood friend is a faithful reader and was concerned that I hadn’t written. Her husband related to us that they had had a discussion during which he had said, “It’s not really a blog…it is more like an online diary.” That got me thinking…and googling. Am I wrong to call this a blog?
I found these definitions of a blog:
http://www.blogger.com/tour_start.g
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blog
They both mention an “online diary” as an example of a blog. Whew, I feel vindicated.
The strength of my writing has always been proportional to my emotional investment. If my heart is not in it, my writing can be clinical and lifeless. After journaling for over 35 years, my natural voice is one that sounds like a stream of consciousness or that I’m thinking out loud. I still edit and rewrite. It’s not as easy as it may sound.
Anyway, for those who missed me or were wondering if I would ever post again…I’ve quit one job and I’m almost finished with an editing project so I’ll BE BACK…

Leave a Reply

et cetera
