Sued51's Blog











{February 21, 2011}   So Many Books, So Little Time…

As a book lover I have stacks of unread books in my house, some given to me, some picked up at yard sales or on sale.  As I have mentioned in a previous blog, I have been using Paperback Swap to get rid of books I have read and don’t want to keep, and swap them for others that I would like to read, but I recently ran out of credits!

So…I looked through my stacks and picked a book that my husband purchased and read years ago by a best-selling author.  It seemed like a good candidate for Paperback Swap:  written by a popular author and not a “keeper.”  Trouble was I wasn’t in the right mood to read it; it didn’t grab me and make me look forward to reading it. It was drudgery.  I spent a couple of weeks getting through just a couple of chapters.

In my younger days, I committed myself to books — once I started one, I tried to finish it no matter how long it took (of course, I would often start another one on the side while I dragged myself through the first one).  That was then, this is now; I’m older, and there are too many books I want to read before my time is up (and more being written every day!).  I want to read a book that cheers me up, makes me laugh, broadens my knowledge, or sparks my creativity.  Taking classes and going through training requires enough “have to” reading right now.  That book is going to Paperback Swap today, even though I haven’t read it; today I start something fun.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
