Sued51's Blog











{November 4, 2010}   Pricey Resources

A customer came through my line the other day with soil, a bag of rocks, and bottled water in her cart (along with several other things).  She said, “I never thought I would be paying for dirt, rocks, and water.”   We both laughed, but it made me think.

When I was a child I lived next to an abandoned gravel pit;  it was my playground.  I collected bag after bag of rocks.  I studied them, decorated with them, and played games with them.  I even had a rock polisher that I used to make them smooth. The soil was sandy, but was still capable of growing things (it was great for growing potatoes).  I also collected smooth beach stones when I went to the beach.  I never considered rocks as something to buy until I was grown up and we used them for landscaping at our home.

It used to be if I wanted soil to plant something, I just went outside and dug some out of the ground and dumped it in a pot (of course that was before I knew anything about gardening and bugs).

Also, when I was a child our family had a well.  The water was fine to drink.  In fact, I remember there being a spring at a park near my house, and we would often stop to drink from it when we were out playing for the day.  We didn’t need water filters or bottled water to drink.

I know the world has changed, and I’m okay with that.  It just gives me second thoughts about how we use our resources and reminds me not to take them for granted.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
