Sued51's Blog











{October 8, 2010}   Do You Believe in Telepathy? (Part 2)

Do you believe in a collective consciousness?  Some people call it a “Universal” consciousness or simply “the Universe.”  It’s when something you do on a personal level seems to coincide with something happening on a broad or more global level.  I can relate two incidences of this in my life.

Back in the late 80s I told my friend, Jane, about a weird dream I had had (this was not an unusual occurrence).  In my dream I was walking down the street and my cat, a gray tabby, was driving a car and stopped to pick me up.  Jane replied, “You are SO weird!” and we both cracked up laughing.  Sometime later we were watching “Saturday Night Live” together, and what did we see but a skit showing a gray tabby cat driving a car (Toonces the driving cat).  Jane looked at me and said, “Oh my God, it’s your dream!”  We laughed, but also we were a little awestruck.

In the mid-90s I had a similar experience.  As a writing exercise I had opened the dictionary to find a new word to write a poem around.  The word I had picked was “stalking horse.”  I had then written a poem called “Decoy,” which was published in a literary journal.  A couple of years later I was watching an old episode of “The X-Files” that I had never seen before, and suddenly I heard the character Agent Mulder say, “I won’t be your stalking horse…” — THE EXACT WORDS OF THE FIRST LINE OF MY POEM.  Too weird…

Stalking Horse poem0001

Maggie says:

I love it when things like that happen. They seem like coincidences, but I don’t believe in coincidences. Even tiny things like those may add something to the big picture, if that makes sense.

Like



sued51 says:

I agree with you Maggie. I don’t believe in coincidences either! Sometimes it doesn’t make sense until much later, but things always happen for a reason. Thanks for your comment!

Like



nrhatch says:

Thanks for the link, Sue! I enjoy these moments of synchronicity and mystery. 😯

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
