Sued51's Blog











{August 29, 2010}   Memory Triggers

We all have sensory experiences that remind us of certain times or dear people in our lives: unique smells, pictures, or a certain song.  I was taking a walk today and a neighbor had a silver dollar plant (http://www.gardeningforums.net/gallery/data/500/medium/silver-dollar.jpg).

My thoughts immediately went to my deceased grandmother.  She used to have some “money plants” by her back door.  I was fascinated by them as a child: the crackling sound they made when the wind blew; the way they felt like old paper when I touched them.  Their delicacy reminded me of my grandmother’s skin, white and thin, and I thought they were beautiful.

My Nana also used to have some in the house in a vase.  Unlike flowers, there was no need for water with silver dollars; they would last forever.

I wanted to pick some and bring them home, but they belonged to someone else, and I had no right to them.  The memories do belong to me though, and somehow I’m sure my grandmother knew that I was smiling for her.

Fanny says:

If I recall correctly your grandmother lived a long long time.

As for me my memory for today goes back 28 years. Ed and I were married 28 years ago yesterday (8-28-82) and so 28 years ago today we were flying to Hawaii on our honeymoon. I don’t know where 28 years have gone.

Like



sued51 says:

WOW! I don’t know where it has gone either!

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
