Sued51's Blog











{August 10, 2010}   Will No-Tax Weekend be No-Spend Weekend?

The Massachusetts Tax-Free weekend is coming up; I will be working all weekend because the store I work for has high hopes that people will be anxious to spend their money.  But will they?

I participated in the first one, before the Recession.  It started out with anticipation and excitement.  My husband and I got up early with our list and took off in my month-old, new (used) pick-up truck.  We went to our first stop and bought a mailbox and a leaf blower.  We went to our second stop, a furniture consignment shop where we had been eyeing a couple of chairs.  We made a great deal and put the chairs in the back.  We picked up large ice coffees; we took back roads, smiling and enjoying the beautiful day with the windows part-way down and the radio on.  Suddenly a car coming the other way took a left in front of us, and the next thing I knew I was wearing ice coffee and choking on air bag dust.  I quickly forgot about no-tax day and our purchases; my truck was wrecked.  A policeman who responded to the accident picked up the mailbox and leaf blower and put them in the cab of the truck as it was towed away; it wasn’t until the next day we even thought about them.  My mother put the chairs in the trunk of her car when she came to pick us up.  Luckily, we only had minor injuries, but that was the end of our fabulous no-tax day spending.

This year, with my new frugal lifestyle, I’ll be out making money instead of spending it, and I’ll be happy about that.  I question whether the anticipated crowds will come.  Does saving 6.5% really encourage people to spend when they are watching every penny?  One of the supervisors I work with thinks people will come because they “like to screw the government.”  In tough times like these, I’m not sure that’s enough.  I don’t think I’m the only one who has learned the pleasures of not spending.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
