Sued51's Blog











{June 28, 2010}   Working on My “But”

Ever think about words you use too often?  Mine is “but”.  I have a difficult time making a confident, straightforward, unqualified statement.

When I was young, everything seemed black and white; I was a passionate person whose ideas and interests could sometimes seem extreme.  Somewhere on my way through school I became an analytical thinker.  Isn’t that what we strive for in education you say?  And certainly in the workplace we want people who can see all sides. 

Unfortunately, this can also be viewed as wishy-washy and can indicate a lack of conviction or inability to make a decision, the way John Kerry was portrayed in this quest to become president.  It seems like I feel the need to qualify most things I say so that people know that I’m thinking and to avoid controversy and argument. I can’t even say it is a nice day without adding a “but” statement: “but it is humid”, “but we need rain”, etc.

Sometimes I wish I could turn it off.  I wish I could just make a definitive statement and not worry about the consequences…but, would I feel it?  Hmmm…I think it will be a hard habit to break.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
