Sued51's Blog











{May 26, 2010}   Animal Abuse—Another Form of Bullying

This is painful for me to write about, but I feel like I should.  Is there more animal abuse happening recently or is it just that in the past it was not publicized?

I see the headlines, but I can’t read the stories.  If it comes on the TV news I have to change the channel or leave the room.  Yes, you can dismiss me as one of those crazy animal lovers, but I feel the same way about child abuse.  Both these issues are about an extreme, sick, violent form of bullying someone vulnerable.  The headlines alone are enough to make me want to cry, I don’t need to read the stories.  But is that why it continues to happen, because people like me want to pretend the problem doesn’t exist?

Bullying in schools has finally become an important issue; it can no longer be ignored because children have died, but it has been going on since the beginning of public schooling.  It has escalated recently because of social media and the illusion that violence is somehow acceptable in our society, which is implied through its excessive use in video games and movies.  Why do children or animals have to die in order for us as a society to address the issue?

I feel very torn about the reporting of it.  I know it is important that people know that it is going on so we can work to stop it.  A news story may motivate some people to step up and offer information on the perpetrators so they can be caught.  But there is also the element of glorifying those who do this by giving them attention.

I feel powerless to do anything but bring it up and get others to think about it.  How can we stop this behavior?

Teju says:

Only by lending our voices to these voiceless children of God, can we bring about a positive change in this issue. I’m glad to find out that we are birds of the same feather! 🙂

Like



Teju says:

Hey dear Sue, your blog has just been voted for the coveted ‘Wonderful Readership’ award! Don’t believe me, then check this link & scroll to the bottom of that page: http://singingsparrows.wordpress.com/awards/ Congratulations! 🙂

Like



This is a very late reply, but I just found your post. And I couldn’t help but respond, because it’s an issue I feel very deeply about. I completely agree that the root issue is about defending those who are most vulnerable. Animals can’t speak for themselves, and I feel it’s especially wrong when domesticated animals are abused, because we as a society have essentially agreed to take responsibility for them. I don’t know how to stop the behavior . . . I also feel powerless . . . I take care of the ones that I can, and I don’t eat meat . . . otherwise, not sure what I can do??

Like



sued51 says:

Thanks for commenting. I think you are doing what you can. Aside from volunteering at shelters or sending money to anti-animal cruelty organizations, I’m not sure what we can do either. 😦 We certainly can’t adopt all the animals that need adoption.
I don’t think it will ever go away because humans have a cruel streak. We just have to be vigilant withing the scope of our own lives and maybe in time our sheer numbers will help the problem.

Like



WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

Well expressed re bullying, although I did laugh when you said it’s been going on since the beginning of public schooling! 🙂 I am sure it happens in private schooling too!!

Re the animal abuse, I think things are more reported now, that’s what I think, & just as well. I want to know, so can do something – anything in my power. There’s a blog, Paulette – http://thepersecutionofmildreddunlap.wordpress.com/2013/11/06/miracles-do-happen/ – and she’s got this great dog rescue story (that link). Hope you have a moment to visit it. It lifted my heart. So, it’s not all abuse 🙂

Like



sued51 says:

You are right…I’m sure it occurs in private school as well, though I have no personal experience with that. 🙂

I will check out Paulette’s blog…I follow several that talk about rescuing animals (mostly cats) such as The Creative Cat: http://thecreativecat.net/

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
