Sued51's Blog











{April 7, 2010}   Food Experiments

My husband calls them my experiments: tops of carrots in dishes of water; split avocado pits in a bowl; a pot of soil with a rotted mini-pumpkin.  I have to admit, he is pretty patient with these oddities. Some of them grow, some do not.  It is part of my quest to find ways to waste less and make the most of things.  It springs from a desire and a drive to make things happen when I feel powerless without money to spend.

In 2008, I bought a mini-pumpkin for $1.00 to decorate my desk at Halloween.  I threw it in a pot after Halloween.  In the spring of 2009, I had many pumpkin plants coming up in the pot.  I transplanted some into the ground and left a couple in the pot.  I ended up getting enough mini-pumpkins to bring them into work to give to coworkers.  I actually brought a few mini-pumpkins back to Massachusetts from Knoxville with me.  Once again, I put the rotted pumpkins in a pot; again, I have quite a few pumpkin plants coming up.  Some plants are easy to root.

My father used to have tomatoes, cantaloupes and other plants sprouting in his compost pile and he would transplant them into the garden.  He called them the “volunteers”.  I have had my own volunteers over the years if I let some rotted tomatoes fall in the garden; I’ve also had cilantro come up the year after I let some go to seed.

I found some old peas in the garage that I had dried for seeds a few years ago.  I put them in the garden just to experiment.  I figured if we ended up with a frost after all this early spring weather, no loss.  I don’t know yet if they will sprout, but I did notice when I smoothed the garden over (because it showed signs of being dug in by some creature likely a chipmunk) that the peas had expanded the way they do before they sprout.

I really enjoy my experiments and I think just about anything is worth a try, especially if it is something that is going to get thrown out anyway.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
