Sued51's Blog











{March 20, 2010}   Harbingers of Spring

When I was growing up, I looked forward to seeing robins as harbingers of spring, but many robins don’t migrate anymore.  I have seen them here in New England in January, so I would say they have lost that title.  My husband says he always determined it was spring when he heard the “peepers”.  I told him that what he called the “peepers” were really birds called phoebes, and what he heard was “phoe-be”.  He refuses to acknowledge that—“Everyone calls them ‘peepers’ and they’ll always be ‘peepers’ to me,” he said.  Regardless of what they are called, they do seem to be harbingers of spring; I heard my first one yesterday, and today is the first day of spring on the calendar.

Last night we opened the windows when we went to bed, and we could hear the ducks.  Usually at the beginning of April, the sound of the frogs in our vernal pool is so loud we have to wear earplugs.  That’s when I really know it is spring–bring on the frogs.

What sound or vision do you consider a harbinger of spring?

Leave a Reply

et cetera
