Sued51's Blog











{March 19, 2010}   But This is New England…

It is so tempting.  Being able to go outside in a t-shirt and feel the warm sun on my back makes me think it is time to plant my peas and flowers.  It is like a craving for a donut—I know I will be sorry.  It is not even the official date of spring on the calendar.  And yet…oh, the sun feels SOOOO GOOD. 

But I do remember the April Fool’s day storm over 10 years ago that dumped over a foot of snow, and I know it has snowed in May in my lifetime.  Even though the weather people show a seven-day forecast with no freezing temperatures at night…I can’t trust it.  It is not even Easter yet.  How many very cold sunrise services do I remember shivering through in my spring Easter clothes?

I have to keep in mind where I live right now; it’s not Knoxville, it’s New England.  Our growing season does not start in March, no matter how much I would like it to.  Despite global warming, you can’t be lulled into beginning a garden on these lovely days, just enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
