Sued51's Blog











{March 7, 2010}   Do you get an allowance?

I never got an allowance when I was a kid.  Partly because we never had specific assigned chores, but also because we were all just expected to pitch in and do what was needed without being paid for it.  But I know there were a lot of kids who did; “back in the day” it was usually a quarter.

Now that we’re grown up, many of us still get a weekly allowance.  I remember having this discussion with my cribbage buddies; their wives took care of the bills and finances and they were provided with “spending money” for the week, the average amount was $20 — that was before the economy got bad. My husband jokes about the fact that as his salary has increased, his allowance has decreased.

Now that I’m unemployed I’m back to my childhood…no allowance.  I walk around with an empty wallet most of the time.  If I want to get to buy something unnecessary, I have to sell something, pick up cans and turn them in, or find and save change (Future blog: Mad Money).

Leave a Reply

et cetera
