Sued51's Blog











{February 17, 2010}   Margaret Atwood

Today I wanted to share something about one of my favorite writers, Margaret Atwood.  I went to see her read back in my college days and have one of her novels autographed (I believe it is bodily harm).  I even wrote a poem about the experience.

She isn’t for everyone; some people find her writing cold or scary; her topics make some people uncomfortable.  You may have heard about “The Handmaid’s Tale”, which was also made into a movie.  My old boss told me he read the book (which I was surprised about because I thought of her as a “women’s author”), and he said he found it one of the scariest books he ever read.  She recently wrote a non-fiction book about the role of debt in society.  Now she is back to “science fiction”.

There is an article about her and her latest book, http://www.cnn.com/2010/SHOWBIZ/books/02/17/margaret.atwood.flood/index.html?hpt=Sbin .  Check it out.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
