Sued51's Blog











{February 4, 2010}   Suffering Music Withdrawal

Most people who know me, know that I worked as an usher supervisor at concerts for many years as my second job.  It was my social life for a while; working two jobs, I didn’t have much time for anything else.  It was how I met my husband; we both loved music.  But as we got older, it got more difficult to stay up late and go out after working a concert and get up in the morning to go to our “real” jobs. So…we both gave it up.

For months after we stopped working shows, I would be woken up in the middle of the night by songs going through my head, over and over…some people call them earworms.  The earworms would come at random times.  It was as if I had always had a soundtrack to my activities, and I couldn’t bear the quiet.  It was like quitting an addiction.

I can’t afford to buy a ticket to a concert anymore.  I can’t stay up late enough to go to clubs.  Every once in a while we watch our dvd concerts (oldies but goodies—Queen, INXS, U2), but I still miss live music.  It sometimes comes as a longing, a need to hear certain songs, like an ex-smoker smelling someone else’s cigarette and breathing deeply. 

Most people who know me, know that I worked as an usher supervisor at concerts for many years as my second job.  It was my social life for a while; working two jobs, I didn’t have much time for anything else.  It was how I met my husband; we both loved music.  But as we got older, it got more difficult to stay up late and go out after working a concert and get up in the morning to go to our “real” jobs. So…we both gave it up.

For months after we stopped working shows, I would be woken up in the middle of the night by songs going through my head, over and over…some people call them earworms.  The earworms would come at random times.  It was as if I had always had a soundtrack to my activities, and I couldn’t bear the quiet.  It was like quitting an addiction.

I can’t afford to buy a ticket to a concert anymore.  I can’t stay up late enough to go to clubs.  Every once in a while we watch our dvd concerts (oldies but goodies—Queen, INXS, U2), but I still miss live music.  It sometimes comes as a longing, a need to hear certain songs, like an ex-smoker smelling someone else’s cigarette and breathing deeply.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
