Sued51's Blog











{January 12, 2010}   Not Employed Does Not Mean “Not Busy”

In my employed days, I remember my 80-year-old mother telling me how busy she was with doctor’s appointments and senior citizen events, and in my own head thinking, “How busy can you be?  You’re not working!”  I would never say it, but I would very uncharitably, think it.  Now I am unemployed, with what appears to others as plenty of time to spare, and I feel like, “I AM SOOO BUSY!”  My mother says, “I talked to you more when you were working!”  What’s that about?!

I can’t believe how long it takes to check the multitude of job sites for appropriate jobs to apply to, let alone fill out the online applications and write specific cover letters (if there is something to apply for).  I check multiple email accounts, check my Google alerts (anything to put on LinkedIn News or anything worth reading?), check my discussion groups on LinkedIn and read and respond to any interesting discussions, follow-up on emails, call the temp agencies, and finally write my blog.  At the end of it all, I feel like I got nothing accomplished.

Yet…in between, I did the laundry, changed the sheets on the bed, worked on a marketing brochure, played with my kittens, filled out some forms, filed some paperwork for taxes, put away some Christmas decorations, and visited with my father.  If I hadn’t sat down to write this blog, I might have thought it was a wasted day.  Reflection is the most important activity of all; it keeps us hoping, and plugging along.  Helps us get up the next day ready to conquer the world!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
